Study your flashcards anywhere!

Download the official Cram app for free >

  • Shuffle
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Alphabetize
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Front First
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Both Sides
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off
  • Read
    Toggle On
    Toggle Off

How to study your flashcards.

Right/Left arrow keys: Navigate between flashcards.right arrow keyleft arrow key

Up/Down arrow keys: Flip the card between the front and back.down keyup key

H key: Show hint (3rd side).h key

A key: Read text to speech.a key


Play button


Play button




Click to flip

11 Cards in this Set

  • Front
  • Back
Health Care Financing Administration
HCPCS (pronounced; hick pix)
HCFA Common Procedure Coding System
What is HCFA responsible for?
for the operations of Medicare and Medicaid programs
Level 1 Codes
Are all the current numeric CPT codes, which range from 10040 to 99607
Level 2 Codes
are the codes called HCPCS codes. These codes range in alphanumeric order of A0000 to V5999. These codes describe supplies, medications, theraputic substances, medical equipment, etc.
Level 3 Codes
Are known as local codes, which are developed for each state or region by the local Medicare fiscal intermediary. These codes are also Alphanumeric and range from W0000 to Z9999. They might describe a given supply or medication or service as defined by a particular state or region.
The ICD-9 is divided into three sections
The Index to Diseases, the Table of drugs and Chemicals, and the Index of external Causes.
American Health Information Management Association
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO)
National Committee for Quality Assurance